Skip to content

what started all of this…

April 6, 2010

As I said in my first official newsletter of ANGELA HARRIS DESIGN (trying to come up with a better name than just “newsletter” – so blah…), I talked about how life had become complete chaos and (I didn’t put this part in the newsletter) writing in my DearBook became one of the last things I wanted to do.  Ironic because that’s what my company was all about – creating these special times with your loved ones and preserving the memories in DearBook.  My breaking point?  Well, there were several, but here is one that stands out at the moment…

Since I was a child, one of my favorite things is the first sighting of the green buds on the trees after a long, cold winter (always seemed to notice right after a good rain).  Now that I have my own home, it’s those buds AND our first azalea / magnolia / gardenia blooms.  Two (I believe it was two) years ago, I realized our azeala blooms were shriveled up, the buds on the trees weren’t even buds – they were leaves – and I had completely missed it all.  I hadn’t even cut a single flower for the house, which may not be a big deal for some, but for me, completely oblivious to one of my favorite times of the year – I knew something had to change.

Of course, it wasn’t just the flowers.  There were many other red flags saying revamping (understatement) was in order, but this flower/bud image is one that stands out in my mind. There’s so much more I can write about this subject (a couple of years ago, I would have kept working on this entry, re-writing, etc. until I felt it was just right), but tonight I’m just going to hit “publish” and make time for a few other favorites of mine… snuggling with my two boys while we read a chapter in Time Cat (the current book we’re reading), and then saying NITE-NITE!!  (And BONJOUR to having time to myself – with a glass of wine and a filled up DVR!)  bonne nuit!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

